Friday, December 12, 2008

Twelve Days of Giving: My Favorite Things

I'd like to wrap up my Twelve Days of Giving by highlighting some of my favorite books of 2008.

For younger readers:

Hate That Cat by Sharon Creech. Read my full review here. This novel in verse is a great choice for the poetry lover in your life. It's a sequel to Love That Dog, so bundle them together with a book by your favorite poet or a collection of children's poetry.

Savvy by Ingrid Law. Read my full review here. This story about the amazing Beaumont family and their savvies (read: special powers) will intrigue your young fantasy fan. I love the tall-tale feeling of this story set in America's heartland.

Rapunzel's Revenge by Shannon and Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale. Read my full review here. This graphic novel is an adaptation of the Rapunzel story and perfect for fans of fairy tale novels (think Ella Enchanted, East, etc.). This Rapunzel is taking matters into her own hands in this beautiful, spunky story set in the Old West.

Greetings from Nowhere by Barbara O'Connor. Read my full review here. This is a beautiful, quiet sort of story, perfect for kids who like quiet, thoughtful books. Four different narrators tell their stories as they are brought together at the Sleepy Time Motel in the Smokey Mountains.

For teens:

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Read my full review here. This is an un-put-down-able book that's great for older fans of Collins's Gregor the Overlander Series. A word to the wise: this book is pretty intense and I'd recommend it for kids in seventh or eighth grade and up.

For your teen who loves to laugh, definitely consider Paula Yoo's Good Enough. Read my full review here. This one had me laughing out loud. It was funny and touching and very satisfying.

Another book that had me laughing out loud was Jennifer Lynn Barnes's The Squad: Perfect Cover. Read my full review here. This story of cheerleader espionage is great for fans of Ally Carter's I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You. This is a smart, funny book that a teenage girl can really devour over winter break.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore. Read my full review here. This is a unique fantasy book with a kick-butt heroine. Buy it for your uber fantasy fans, but especially teens who have read and enjoyed Tamora Pierce. It's got an intriguing premise, plenty of action, and a bit of romance.

Thanks so much for tuning in for 12 Days of Giving! I had a lot of fun writing the posts and I hope you found something perfect for your young reader this holiday season. If you didn't, check out one of these sites:

Sarah's been posting her gift ideas for 'tweens using favorites from her 6th grade classroom.

Pam pairs over 100 books with a little something extra to make super special gifts in her Twenty-One Ways to Give a Book feature.

Find book suggestions for all ages at buybooksfortheholidays.com where many bloggers share ideas for holiday book giving.

And, of course you won't want to miss Colleen's roundup of Book Recommendations for Holiday Shopping.

You also might be interested in checking out one of the many Best of 2008 lists that are starting to pop up:

School Library Journal's Best Books of 2008
KirkusReview's Best Children's Books of 2008 (opens a PDF)
KirkusReview's Best YA Books of 2008 (opens a PDF)
Horn Book Best Books of 2008
NY Times Best Illustrated Children's Books of 2008
Publisher's Weekly's Best Books of the Year (scroll to the end for children's books)

Happy holidays!!

3 comments:

Jennifer Lynn Barnes said...

I'm so honored that THE SQUAD made this list, because your taste seems so similar to mine- Savvy, The Hunger Games, and Graceling were three of my very top reads this year as well.

Tony said...

Although I myself have not read these books, I will definately be running to my library to check out these books. Thank you for making me aware of more great book titles.

Tony Peters
Author of, Kids on a Case:The Case of the Ten Grand Kidnapping
www.eloquentbooks.com/KidsOnACase.html

SherMeree said...

I enjoyed your Twelve Days of Giving lists. I've put some of your suggestions on my list.