Sunday, February 14, 2010

In My Mailbox #21

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren! Here's what was in my mailbox this week:

For review:

A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliott. AmazonEncore, February 2010.

Publisher summary:

Genna is a fifteen-year-old girl who wants out of her tough Brooklyn neighborhood. But she gets more than she bargained for when a wish gone awry transports her back in time. Facing the perilous realities of Civil War-era Brooklyn, Genna must use all her wits to survive. In the tradition of Octavia Butler's Kindred and Madeleine L'Engle's A Wrinkle in Time, A Wish After Midnight is the affecting and inspiring tale of a fearless young woman's fight to hold on to her individuality and her humanity in two different worlds.

I don't generally accept self-published books for review, but Ari loved it and I figured I'd give it a shot.

In addition to A Wish After Midnight, I received a prize package from MotherReader's Comment Challenge AND a couple of books I had ordered from Amazon. They both came on the same day (and any day that you receive two packages full of books is an awesome day).


The books I purchased are Gone by Lisa McMann [Simon Pulse, 2010] (because neither of the libraries I have access to have ordered this book yet and I just couldn't wait) and The Stand by Stephen King. 

The books in the awesome prize package are: 

Under the Night Sky by Amy Lundebrek (Tilbury House, 2008)
Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey (Walker Books for Young Readers, 2009)
The Promises of Dr. Sigmundus: The Resurrection Fields by Brian Keaney (Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2009)
The Timekeeper's Moon by Joni Sensel (Bloomsbury USA, March 2010)
Raven Summer by David Almond (Delacorte Press, 2009)

Thanks, Pam! :D

So, yes. Great mailbox week for me. How about you?